English Community
Learn English: The English Language Community
Created on: 18 June, 2009 Members: 6757 | Community Link: http://english.wiziq.com

spoken english through tamil

by swamy
Posted on 13 November, 2009

I have started a podcast for the benefit of rural based tamil students who want to learn spoken english .I plan to post weekly podcasts which can be listened to or if found useful can be downloaded.This is my maiden effort and i seek the teaching community to guide me in this regard.
I have to improve a lot.i know there are many rural poor students who cannot afford to enroll in courses.
http://www.spokenenglishthroughtamil.mypodcast.com/
thank you

by sowjanyapratapreddy posted on 20 April, 2010
dear sir,i'm an english teacher in rural andhrapradesh. teaching them i lost my fluency and vocabulary.my speech has not even those words which are commonly used by housewives.now i also want to teach online. this fluency and mother tongue influence have become a big problem for me to acquire an online job.please help me in this matter. iwant to speak english fluently
by Englishteacher Namrata Arora posted on 04 January, 2010
As a member of the Englishteachersvn team, I thank Mr. Swami for highlighting the need to teach basic English to Tamil speakers. In fact, our team of dedicated trainers have specialized courses for Beginners of English language also.
by Englishteacher Namrata Arora posted on 26 April, 2011
Strangely, even in this era of globalization many of the students posting their replies here consider themselves as "Tamil". Students it's high time we extend our scope of learning and start taking English as a global language.
When I teach Listening Skills, I help my students get rid of their regional accent. Isn't that important?
I would suggest you all to attend classes of different teachers on this website; especially those who belong to different parts of the world- USA, Poland, Spain and the like.